Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why does my "Prosumer" Olympus C-8080 take better pictures then my Canon 40D SLR?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why does my "Prosumer" Olympus C-8080 take better pictures then my Canon 40D SLR?

I'm by no means a good photographer but I understand the very basics. I currently have an Olympus C-8080 cam that I've been using for 5 years now and it take stunning pictures. Then about a year ago I purchased a Canon 40D with a Tamron AF28-80mm F/3.5-5.6 lens for my company, but been using it for personal stuff.

When comparing shots from the 2 cameras, the olympus take pictures that are much sharper (especially using zoom), WAY less noise when taking long exposure night shots at the same ISO, and pictures just generally look better, shadows, contrast, so on.

Is it because I baught a cheap lens for the 40D? It was one of those buy the camera body and accessories and we'll throw the lens in free deal. It was 850 new for everything.

I will take a few comparison shots tomorrow and you'll be the judge.

My guess... it's because the Olympus is designed to be simple to operate and give the best results in a variety of conditions when operated by novice users. Point and click and the camera tries to make the best choices it can based on various sensor inputs and a set of pre-set criteria.

Where as the results from the 40D are more dependant on you as a photographer and the setting, lenses, etc. that you use rather than some automagic settings. The 40D shines in terms of versatility and control and once mastered it should blow the Olympus out of the water.

Just my $0.02 worth HTH

my flickr

Comment

^^

I was about to type the exact same thing.

Comment

Great minds eh?!?! lol

my flickr

Comment

The lens you have on your camera is not very impressive. That and a DSLR makes it much easier to make mistakes if you don't know what you're doing in comparison to a fully automatic point and shoot.
          FlickR