the emergence of a vr4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the emergence of a vr4

hey stanceworks! i'm PJ Prendergast, i'm 18 and i'm a freshman at the university of new haven. i grew up as a nascar and classic car kid via my dad. he's been into cars for 30 + years now, and so am i. when i was 15 my dad told me to start looking for a project car, and at the time my dream car was an STI, but even wrecked they were around $10k (wasn't gonna happen). so my dad introduced me to the 3000gt vr4, it was awd and turbo'd like the sti, but a v6 TT awd plus more sex appeal and i fell in love. i began researching and that's when i really got into jap cars, drifting (which i plan on doing next summer: currently looking for either an fc rx7 or an mkiii supra). last fall i also bought an '88 325 e30 for $260. i was going to drift that but its in such good condition after putting under $1k into it that i'm keeping it as a clean DD. but back to the 3kgt:
    i came home to a surprise shipped from california: a 1993 vr4 that my dad bought me on ebay through a lien sale. we were originally going to just put some new wheels and tires on it and paint it up, but as we got deeper into the car, it really needed almost everything; almost blown motor/tranny, and mis matched wheels weren't helping either. so we pulled the motor/tranny, entire rear end, and had the car basically to a shell and the front seats. we threw it together to have the motor melt down due to sand in a part of the valve cover we didn't fully clean i suppose (sooooo stupid).