Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cars Can Cure (planning meets for spring)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cars Can Cure (planning meets for spring)

Hello everyone, and firstly, Merry Christmas/ Happy Holiday's

Around a month ago I decided to try and start a series of car meets that would accept donations and have a small (under $5) enterance fee, to go to cancer research.

I decided to call these meets "Cars Can Cure".

The idea spawned from watching my father battle a rare form of cancer for the last 4 years. I am no doctor, not at all good at science or math. I felt defenseless as I watched a once healthy, strong man under go roughly 6 major surguries in such a short amount of time. He loved to hunt, fish, and spend time with his family. The past few years have been hard on him, but we have managed to get by and he has fought hard.

I figured if I couldn't physically cure him, I couldn't just sit idly by and do nothing for the rest of this ordeal. Obviously many people have been diagnosed with cancer, and I'm sure many of you know some, or have lost some.

By collecting donations and sending them to national cancer care organizations, I feel that I may be able to make a small difference. Even if it's small, it's something.

I am not here to debate the effects of donating money to research. I am here to see who would be interested in coming to a meet like this.

I am from the Pittsburgh, PA area. The meets would be held locally to that area. They will be legit (no meets in a Wendy's or Walmart parking lot that will eventually be broken up by the police). They will start when the snow stops falling, and when people break out of their winter set ups. Roughly late April, early May.