This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E46 Detailed, process/tips.

As some of you may know, I detail for a living (which should be changing shortly), at a BMW dealership. High volume production detailing is far different than what some of you may have seen on detailing forums and such, and it's a sick, sad world. That being said, the processes, equipment, and chemicals I use on my own personal (and customers) cars is far different than that of the dealership production environment. I didn't stop to take before and during pictures, but nothing really that impressive was to be seen, so you will just have to deal with the afters. (Disclaimer: I am not a photographer, nor do I have a decent camera. I used an old point-and-shoot simply because they pictures end up marginally better than the ones from my cell phone.)

I felt it was time to give my personal car the attention it deserved. You may also notice, I'm not a product junkie... I tend to use what I know works, not just because of what brand it is.

Exterior:

-Hand washed with wool mitt, two bucket process, Meguiar's Deep Crystal Car Wash.
    -Claybarred with Meguiar's Professional Detail Clay (Red - Aggressive)
    TIP: Reapply suds from bucket to wet car for lubricant to claybar, this will save you time compared drying the entire car, then using a detail spray to lubricate surface and claybarring. Do NOT use aggressive clay unless you plan on machine polishing the car afterward. Claybars this abrasive will most likely leave might marring after use.
    -Dried with Water Sprite chamois to remove the bulk of the water, then continued with microfiber drying towels.
    -Dry sanded any medium to heavy scratches with 3M 1500 grit Hookit precut discs on a 3" D.A. pistol sander. I did this as necessary in spots, not entire panels.