Modifying M52 Head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modifying M52 Head

Hi guys, I'm looking for a little bit of advice/reassurance.

At the minute I drive a standard 323i E36. I'm planning on doing a little engine work over winter and I have a few questions on modifying the head.

I'm not looking for huge increases in power, I'm more interested in economy, I'm a student so fuel is expensive.

Apart from new gaskets and bolts, is there anything else that I would need/should replace?

This is my daily driver, so I plan on getting another head, have my father port/polish etc and swap it all over one weekend.

If the head is skimmed, can I adjust the timing chain?

Cheers guys

might wanna take this over to bf.c
    025garage

Comment

Originally posted by vgrntbeauxner View Post
      might wanna take this over to bf.c
      I'd rather wait and see what people have to say here first haha

Comment

I don't know why you would port/polish if you're not looking for making more power.
        I would not bother to swap the head personally.
        Best thing for fuel economy is fixing all vacuum leaks post MAF and exhaust leaks pre oxygen sensor. Oil change, do the engine, trans and diff oil. Then some new plugs.

And if you have access to an engine scanner look for fault codes. and see if the engine switches over to open loop when it gets warm. Basically the car runs in closed loop when its cold, meaning it takes no input from the oxygen sensor or maf. And just chucks a "large" amount of fuel in the engine dependent on the TPS, this is done so the engine will warm up faster. When engine car gets warm, it will switch over to open loop, taking info from the o2 sensor, maf and tps. It will adjust the fuel amount all the time, and it will be more economic. There are a few sensors that can cause the car not going into open loop, such as the temp sensors. So such a simple thing as a temp sensor can cause the car to burn A LOT more fuel.