Got a Photography Question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got a Photography Question?

Post it here and I'm sure some of the Pro's won't mind helping out. (I looked around and didn't see a thread dedicated to this. I think it'd be easier to gather all the questions here instead of a new thread to search for)

I'll start.

Two questions:
    1. Is it better to shoot in RAW format or JPG Format? What's the difference?
    2. What exactly is HDR shooting? Is it just timed exposure shots?

RAW x 100000000000000

Think of it as a "digital negative" As opposed to editing a developed picture

HDR = High dynamic range = cliche and lame

But its the same shot with multiple exposures.

Its not really a bad idea, its just the execution often sucks

Flickr

Comment

1.) I'm no expert, but from my reading RAW is the best to shoot in because it's like a digital negative. JPG loses it's quality each time you save it. As for what's best to shoot in, it depends what you're shooting sometimes. The thing about RAW is your shot bursts are lower compared to JPG and the size, I've read people who shoot events sometimes shoot in JPG because they can take more photos faster i.e weddings, dinner parties.

I personally have always shot in raw, I think my D90's 8 shot burst in RAW is plenty enough for "random" type photos of moments.

2.) HDR is High Dynamic Range, there should be a bracket feature on your camera. It basically takes 3 shots to then merg in PS. Of course you can do your own exposing which I've done a few times. The point of the HDR from what I've read and done myself is to expose for every light range in the scene you are shooting. It creates some cool effects some people take it to the extreme and others do it for a more natural shot. Here is two of mine that I did.

4 shot HDR exposed the road, sky, moutains, trees

3 shot built in bracket with 3stop between each shot from the D70

2 shots, grass and sky
      Flickr | blogZ

Comment