Cut and Camber rear Axle.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cut and Camber rear Axle.

Im planning on cutting an cambering my caddy Mk1 rear axle. Any body done one or something similar before? Ive serched a few forums without joy. Ive looked into using washers/shims but id rather somthing a little more solid and permenant

Any imput welcome along with opinions etc cheers!

Anybody?

Comment

personally, i would rather work on the outboard ends of the axle (hubs) than cut the axle. Unless you have a real knowledgable (and talented) welder that has proper experience in cutting and welding axles i'd recommend against it.

i'm sure what you has been accomplished before (althought by varying methods), have you tried other sites or just straight up googled it?

fyi i'm a mechanical engineer.

Robby

Comment

Hi robby, thanks for th reply. Im a mechanic and pretty handy with a MIG. Um i have a spare axle i may have a fiddle with. Ive thought about how to go about it, theoretically it works well in my mind it does :P

Um ive googled and searched specific forums but to no joy. Think its just and experiment as long as i can make it safe il be happy. One thing im not sure one, is how to actually figure out the neg camber produced in degrees?

If i measured from centre to the top of each hub plate i can get both sides identical but im not sure how this would pan out once a wheel is actually fittted. Any ideas on that?

Thanks again for your response

Comment

EH i don't know about MIG'ing it... I've cut an axle and stick welded in a spline because i needed extra movement due to suspension compression, and it seems to be sufficient but i wouldn't recommend MIG. once again though, with the proper wire, etc. i'm sure it could be done...