Air Ride and Handling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air Ride and Handling

Alright, before I ask, realize I have zero experience in air-ride systems, aside from a kid I knew in high school, who had a real POS Dakota on bags. a POS mainly because it was always finding new, creative ways to implode upon itself, but that's not the point.

I've been given an 04 Accord EX as a 'Christmas Gift' (IE I was driving it all the time anyway and my regular car is near-dead), so I'm figuring to stance it. I'm debating between a static system (unlikely) and air ride.

Air ride looks far more promising, mainly because I got a steep incline on my driveway, and driving through the city means I'll need some clearance now and again. I know plenty of people who are mechanical pros, and I know I'd have the money for the setup by the end of the summer, but my main concern is handling. I don't go to autocross meets or anything, but I've been told by a few of my fellow enthusiasts that air + FWD = the sloppiest handling on earth. That's not gonna cut it for me. I want to stance the car, but if I have to compromise the handling in any noticeable way, I'm probably out, and I'll look more at statics, or just getting something cheap to stance.

I'm more looking for personal experience than anything else at the moment, and if there are any techs who see this, it would be awesome to get a basic rundown.

i drifted on my air ride setup
    uas bags on coilovers
    individual results may vary, intelligence helps, an understanding of suspension theory and how to adjust. knowing how a shock works, and air bags work and intrinsic
    Disclaimer:
    I am rude, opinionated, and sometimes come off as a dick. I am just speaking my mind. If it offends you, PM me. Don't go whine to someone else. I am civil, talk to me, just dont be stupid.

and USE THE SEARCH BUTTON

Comment