Driving low on bags = Soft ride?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driving low on bags = Soft ride?

I'm a complete newb when it comes to airbags, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

For the last 10 years I've only owned coilovers, several variants, cup-kits, and various springs with koni adjustable shocks. With all the options mentioned above, the logic was that the lower you went the stiffer the ride got because the shock was getting maxed out and the spring retained the same spring rate at no matter what height. That was great because when your oil pan is 1" off the ground you really dont wan't any suspension movement.

Now, I don't know the precise physics when it comes to bags, but logic would say that the lower the bag pressure, the lower the car, the softer the bag. Right? So basically you got a spring that looses its spring rate the lower you go? Thats basically the opposite of what I want. At this point I'm guessing that all those super low cars I see here are actually jacked up high when they drive around in real life.

If I'm wrong please correct me cuz right now I feel like a kid that just found out there's no Santa

Are hydraulics a better option for driving low, or am I pretty much stuck with coil springs if I want to drive low daily?
    Last edited by wagonist; 11-11-2010, 03:55 PM.

Originally posted by wagonist View Post
    Now, I don't know the precise physics when it comes to bags, but logic would say that the lower the bag pressure, the lower the car, the softer the bag. Right? So basically you got a spring that looses its spring rate the lower you go? Thats basically the opposite of what I want. At this point I'm guessing that all those super low cars I see here are actually jacked up high when they drive around in real life.

?

You are right in theory, but there are a few different things that equate to the ride in real life such as: dampening of struts, how much actual PSI is in the bag, FBSS or just FB, etc.